Kegs Kwikpics.

By Kegrow

Pied Cormorant

Sun, sun, and more sun. Blue sky, warm offshore breezes - 0hhh, what a day. Kaye and I drove to Inverloch for a beach walk and lunch. It was so good to feel the sun on ones skin. Made a number of exposures but thought that this was a nice one.
The Cormorant was standing on a rock, drying his wings (he?), and kept a beady eye on me as I sidled up to him quietly. I got the shot and left him to his devices.
We had fish and chips for a late lunch. Yeah, disgustingly unhealthy I know. Funny how some things come together perfectly some times. The fish and chips were beautiful, so yum; its been a long time since we have had such a very nice feed of these. There is a dirth of good fish and chips in Wonthaggi. Only option is Mackers or KFC - not the best. As we were eating overlooking the beach I noticed some movement in the water in the channel and identified a couple of Fur Seals frolicking near the shallows. Lovely.
I like this photograph with is strange composition - the focal centre being at extreme lower left. Yes, I know all about the rule of thirds, the 80/20 rule, and others. I have experienced dogma in art and think that it stifles creativity. I also like the low band of rocks (which tends to stabilise the offset composition) and the way the distance defocalises (is this a word?) as it moves away.
What a wonderful day - on the way home and looking toward the west south west, there was a dark purple front approaching - probably back to normal tomorrow.
:-))

Bigger version here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.