How embarrassing!

Apparently it's not a 'good' bird photo unless the bird is doing something.  Well, he's definitely 'doing' something here.  But I bet he didn't mean me to get it on camera.

As usual I couldn't be in the area without calling in to see the yellow eyed penguins (hoiho).  It's funny, the first time I ever photographed yellow eyed penguins it was a pair of them coming out of the sea together.  I've only ever seen them come out of the sea singly since then.  

These guys really do look so totally different in the water - see my extra.

I've had a great day.  I headed south this morning, and of course I couldn't go past Blaze's cross without stopping for a chat and to share a coffee with him.  I told him all about my Gold win in the camera club competition.  

The paddock behind his cross has been planted in barley (I think) and it is going to be a sea of gold in a couple of weeks.  I'll have to try and get back down before it is harvested to see it in all its glory.

Then I tiki toured down a few side roads just to see what was at the end of them.  I took some lovely beach and sea shots, but anyone who has followed my journal for any length of time knows I can never resist a penguin blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.