Calm Blue

By Vo

Back again?

They didn't bother coming over to see us this morning, and we got absolutely soaked while we waited to see if they'd bother to cross the pond to see what we'd brought with us this time. So, after lunch, we took Grandad to feed the swans and they enjoyed their potato.

I didn't enjoy being obliged to explain why feeding them bread is a bad idea and that, no, actually, I don't care if it's something people have done for hundreds of years... I hope few people stop to feed this beautiful pair and their young if they remain ignorant to their dietary needs. I don't think many do feed them, as they are out of the way on a small, man-made pond hidden from view, as opposed to a park where parents routinely take their (usually noisy) children to throw the same bland, unimaginative crumbs at them, because it's cheap and convenient to do so. Since the loss of little John and George, I'm more troubled by this than before. I don't want Paul and Ringo to fill up on bread thrown to them by lazy, idiot humans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.