These mist covered mountains are home for me now

Today's blip was titled for the shot now in as an extra - heckling lobbying from the cheap seats Mrs IttH pointed out that I apparently don't blip enough waterfalls (there is no prize for guessing what the latest painting is...)

On International Mountain Day what else is an International Mountain Leader going to do other than head into the hills. My plan for an early start was (happily) thwarted by the arrival of the electrician - a series of "yes whenever" irritably little jobs had built into half a day's work - but we now have fans, heaters and a new oven, yeay!
With only half a day left a 'get high fast' plan was needed - so I headed into Mardale with a vague idea of Ill Bell, but by Small Water the ankle was screaming and the tops in cloud - so I headed instead for a little scramble onto Pilot Crag. Sat around the 520 contour I meditated for a while and then remembered that pain can & should be ignored if you're having enough fun - spotting a deer track I decided then and there to contour the hill to Blea Water staying within the contour band come what may, a mini Mountaineering adventure.  The next hour fell firmly into the 'don't try this at home kids' category - but the adrenalin worked wonders as a distraction.
Sat under the Racecourse with my back against a rock I pondered a while, the car park had been full, I'd seen distant silhouettes at Nan Beild and on Riggindale - but as ever a modicum of endeavour had brought me solitude. This place where I wasn't born, this place I leave often - this is the place, however many different worlds there are, that will always be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.