Mural by Component

There was once a grand plan for a very big development just off Ponsonby Road. It failed to progress beyond knocking down the buildings that were there, and digging a very big hole. Eventually, new development plans were hatched. This has produced yet another Countdown supermarket on the land at the corner of Williamson Ave and Pollen Street; above the supermarket are the offices of Fairfax Media. 

During the early building work, the site was hidden behind panels, which graffiti artists were commissioned to paint. I know that Component contributed more than one over the duration. I confess that I cannot recall if this mural (a portrait of a young Polynesian woman), which is now on the wall in the vestibule to Fairfax, was on the fence, and therefore bought by Fairfax.

The combination of the mural on the back wall of the vestibule, and the reflections in the glass doors directly in front of me (which were locked at the time I was there) symbolise for me the heterogeneity of this community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.