RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Mother & Son

Down at Plaza Kioto again tonight for more of the Día de Guadalupe processions. We have been fascinated by this very important Mexican tradition since our arrival in this wonderful country. During this time every December, groups march from their neighborhoods or businesses to the church located on Plaza Kioto. It is highly entertaining, especially when more than one group attempts to enter the church grounds at the same time (after walking anywhere from .5 to 10 kilometers). Difficult shooting conditions, the lighting is horrendous - pockets of deep shadow interrupted by bright, bare bulbs - and the groups tend to be big clumps rather than individuals. Imagine my surprise tonight when this mother looked directly at me and waved. Fortunately I had positioned myself near a good light source, allowing me a sufficiently fast shutter speed with my 70-200.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.