Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Mother

Per Ceridwen's suggestion of MothersMonday, and also in honor of MonoMonday, this is a photo FOUND in my huge collection of photo albums inherited from my mother. She is the young one in the front with the stubborn scowl. With her are her father, George; mother, Isabel Kate, called Kate; and older sister, Katherine Mary, called Kitty. My mother's name was Isabel Renée - called or at least pronounced "Wrenny." She was born in London in May 1914, and I imagine this was taken in 1918, or 1919. I did know my grandfather, and my aunt lived with us for many years, but I never met my grandmother. She died, of "consumption" when my mother was 19. My grandfather promptly married his secretary, with whom he'd been carrying on for some time while his wife was ill. So my step-grandmother, Ivy, was the one I knew. She was only a couple of years older than my Aunt Kitty! Tsk! 

I particularly like this photo because her face looks rather like mine at a similar age. And I was apparently a handful, often with a scowl on my face!

I am - by the way - Katherine Isabel. Thus, "Kim" comes from my initials, which were K.I.M. before I married a Mr. B. Now I am KIMB. HAHAHAHA!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.