Spoiler

If you’re one of the very, very few people who get a Christmas card from me please stop reading now. There’ll be another blip along for you tomorrow.
 
I usually make my own cards and this year I decided to use one of the pictures  I took a week ago of geese on the frozen Thames. I’m a bit archaic about how I do it all: process the raw image in Photoshop and save as a tif; create a file in Quark, import the image, line up, size and fret (that’s another graphic design technical term;) export to pdf, check again, then print a proof.
 
So I inspect the first print. What are all those black splodges on the image? Ink problem? Stare. No, goose shit. How did I not notice that – or even think about it – when I was faffing in Photoshop? What to do? A goose picture without shit is a fantasy – geese shit, as everyone who’s ever walked on a riverbank knows – but, well, it’s not great on a Christmas card.
 
Ah well, back to Photoshop, Quark, Acrobat…
 
It would be so much easier, quicker, cheaper, prettier and beneficial to charity to buy cards.
 
L –you shouldn’t still be reading! Ah well, one will head your way soon.

 
Black and white in colour 115




Thank you for making yesterday's a surprise hit (by my standards).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.