serpent

By serpentine

Abandoned Sunbird Residence

My DS and Tiny Tuesday entry - the purple sunbird is the second smallest Indian bird, about 7cm from beak to tail and they weave the most beautiful homes, with porches above the entrance and decorate them for camouflage. I have shown the woven side in the extras and here  is a picture of the female making the nest.  This particular nest is only 10cm long and had two eggs and both hatched and fledged successfully last summer,  

I have now moved back to Jaipur and had my jaw graft looked at and the stitch removed - all in good order I am happy to report.  Hopefully that is the end of the saga.

Thank you to everyone who comments, sprinkles stars and hearts - so sorry not to be able to reciprocate every time but wifi is erratic and so is my timing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.