Dad & The Lad

No hockey tonight so after homework and study for the impending maths tests dad and the lad shared a little quiet time and a game of chess.

I know Fraser misses his grandpa, its been a little over a year now since Robert passed and playing chess was something Fraser shared with him, it was their thing and recently he has been talking about it.  I played a lot of chess when I was younger and it was lovely to sit again and enjoy a little quiet time.

I was seeing the quack last week about my knee injury and as I walked  back to the house I spotted a chess set in the window of the hospice shop.  It was lovely and in a nice lined box and I thought it would be nice for Fraser.  Mimi has had a lot of  new kit for her hockey this year and Fraser has never once complained, he has always been very encouraging of Mimi's international adventure and for that I am very proud of how he has dealt with this as it must be difficult for him.

So tonight we retired to the kitchen, a little music and two games.  He is a very wise, very deep little lad and now I can begin to see the person he will become and he is going to be someone special. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.