Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

On the Roof

You really didn't expect me to go through a photographic stay in Sydney without at least one stitched pano did you? Fat chance. Here we are on the roof of the Park Regis hotel which is 45 floors up. Back in 1968, this was the tallest residential building in "the southern hemisphere". These days the structure is all pretty "ho hum" because I am still looking UP to a good many buildings around and about. I thought at one stage I'd go to the edge of the platform and look down ... maybe get a picture or two. Actually I DID do that and (to my surprise) was immediately overcome with vertigo. I didn't trust myself at the edge again. Gulp.

Sydney Tower is in the scene once more and seems deceptively short from here. That structure is actually 1,014 feet tall (equivalent to about 90 odd floors) but sits on land which is downhill from here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.