Me old China plate

A wet day from the start today - but it's been much drier than usual for so long that we can't really grumble. Even though we do!

No a great day for Blipping. I had to go out anyway as I had an appointment at the hospital. My daughter had told me that as Oban has one of the best Audiology departments anywhere - and where you can refer yourself - I ought to take advantage of it to have my hearing checked and ask about tinnitus. I was surprised to find no other patients there - it was extremely quiet. (Sorry, no pun intended!)

I did look around for a Blip but it was even darker than usual - I'm not sure if our street lights went off at all today. There were certainly still on after 11am and definitely on at 1.30 pm. I gave up on the Blip, came home and took a picture of these lovely Wedgewood plates which we have displayed in the kitchen.

My grandfather had a furniture and removals business in Henley and occasionally brought things home that he'd acquired, I assume, from house clearances. Many moons ago he let us rummage in a tea chest and share out lots of goodies, many of which I still have. The plates were divided between my sister and me. She used hers on a daily basis until they were all broken, I kept mine wrapped up. This is the first time they've been on display after possibly forty years!

Probably not worth a great deal of money, but lovely nevertheless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.