Horses at Shell Bay

Some days are truly memorable for all the right reasons. Today was one of them!

A wonderful day out with my Wednesday friends and the most glorious weather - beautiful sunshine, no wind, comfortable temperatures.... We took the chain ferry across to Shell Bay and walked - about 8 miles in total. There were a few other walkers about but the beach goes on and on, so it felt as if we had it almost to ourselves. Walking along great expanses of beach with good friends and the sight of Old Harry Rocks in the distance on such a beautiful day was pure bliss! These two riders with their horses were also making the most of the sunshine and enjoying the water - not a sight I see to often, so it had to be my blip. It looks from my photo as if it was cloudy - I can assure you it was not - it was very bright, as I was basically shooting into the sun.

Worth looking on the black background, if you have time!

The only problem was finding somewhere to eat. There are almost no eateries in the vicinity and the place where we had hoped to get a light bite was having 'mechanical difficulties', so had little to offer us other than a pastie, beetroot and horseradish soup or a cake - not what we had in mind for a pre-Christmas celebratory lunch! However, all came good! We decided to walk on to a pub which was still some distance away but en route came across 'The Pig' - a rather nice hotel and restaurant! It turned out to be perfect for us! Even though we had just walked in off the beach in our walking boots and had no reservation, they agreed to accommodate us in their very comfortable bar..... the food was delicious and we didn't leave until we absolutely had to, unless we wanted to walk miles of beach in the darkness :)) It was a good while after sunset before we reached the ferry again but not fully dark.....

Such a great day! I had a permanent smile on my face :))

I took nearly 500 photos but I simply don't have time to look at them all properly right now.....

I hope you've had a good day, too! Many thanks for everything, as always!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.