South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

"On my Christmas tree" series - number five

This French Horn has resided on the Christmas tree for many years now. You might also spot part of a saxophone to the left. This used to mean quite a lot to me as I started learning to play the alto saxophone when I was 45 in 1999. I used to love it - my son who was 11 at the time found it appalling - really hated the sound. This continued even when I was of a good standard (around Grade 3/4 my teacher reckoned, though I refused to take any exams). In the end I gave it up as there seemed to be few openings for playing it - it was really too loud to play in church, though I did once lead an evening service with it. I can tick it off my list though as I had wanted to learn to play one for years.

Having digressed a bit, I will talk about my day. We were invited to a Christmas lunch at the Anglican Church. It was very enjoyable - we sat with a lovely group of people. After it, Stuart went to the school disco in a very loud red shirt with reindeers on it. I bought it as a joke for his birthday in February and it was washed and put away in a cupboard. We both then forgot about it, but I suddenly thought of it this morning and we had to hunt for it! He borrowed a red tie from our son to wear with it. With a Santa hat the outfit was complete!!

The shop that took our microwave for repair told us a few days ago that the part needed is no longer available (?heat transformer). Since then we have constantly missed each other's phone calls as we've been out and about a lot and their phone has been engaged at other times. I eventually got through late this afternoon. They are apparently struggling to find a microwave to fit the frame we already have, so some adjustments may be needed. I am resigning myself to no microwave for Christmas....so the puddings will have to be steamed for once if this is the case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.