Moorings no longer

Today I set out for a midday run, taking a break while writing a long report which has not been an easy one to write. I decided early today, when I woke a little late, that I would take my daily run then in order to meet this week's challenge topic; water.

Auckland is almost surrounded by water. Set on an isthmus which is narrow enough to have been the course for an 11 km road race in my younger days. The great Jack Foster, an English immigrant who did his early running on the fells of northern England, was the record holder as I recall.

One of the most intriguing facts about the two harbours (Waitemata to the east and Manukau to the west) is that the upper reaches of each overlap the other. Thus waka (canoe) portage by Maori was simple and short.

I found myself quickly down by the waterfront and going around Westhaven. Lots of interesting possibilities for a blip. I have chosen this one of mooring buoys and their chains and concrete weights. They have been removed from out by the marina, preparatory to putting in the piles (seen on the left) to further extend the marina berthing.

Moved as far as this, but I suspect that their weight discourages further shifting until they have to be moved.

Very early start in the morning as I have an 0700 flight to Wellington for the day. Back late. Any picture while on my run tomorrow will be in the dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.