WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Santandréa

The last musical event of the summer. Santandrea and friends aren't just another band; they are friends, who come to the village every year to round off the season (and sometimes to begin it too). They play in various permutations: chanson française, gospel, New Orleans jazz.

This time it was the last of these: lots of swing and a happy audience. They are excellent musicians, and they finished the show with a wonderful version of Caravan -- one of my favourite tunes. Usually I roll my eyes at the obligatory "mad drummer" solos, but their drummer isn't mad -- he did a wonderful sustained, varied and subtle solo in this.

This is a blurry photo of Jean Santandréa, but I like it because I think it conveys the mood and the passion they bring to their music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.