Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Late Light, Stonnall

I've been visiting Mom most days this week.  Despite coming home from Hospital last Friday, she has not improved.  She remains bed-ridden and sleeps a lot of the time.  I spoke to the GP earlier in the week and it is clear this is a critical time for her.  It could go one way or the other.  The doctor would have preferred to get Mom back into hospital but despite her weak state, he told me she was most adamant that was not her wish.  Treatment is in place and time will tell.

Each time the phone rings at the moment I wonder.  It is worse when it is her nursing home, like yesterday when I was in Birmingham at a meeting, with only public transport available should I be needed.  We know she is in good hands; the care and nursing staff have been wonderful.  My work have been very understanding and luckily I can work from home to be nearer Mom.  

Today, she was more awake, asking for drink and ice cream.  There is no conversation, save for her trying to communicate her needs.  A nod or shake of the head indicates her understanding of questions we ask, at least some of the time.

When I left I decided to pop up to these trees in Stonnall.  The late light was brief, but intense and then the cloud rolled in and it was dusk.  Back tomorrow, with everything firmly crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.