Seelye

By Seelye

Winter rose

My oldest friend from 57 years ago emailed me today that her husband of over 40 years has a rare cancer in his small intestines and is receiving chemo (not sure about radiation).  I went to a small chapel near me that was closed but the church was open.  When I left I noticed this lovely  rose outside and everything was moist from rain today.

Then I decided I'd like to hear some Christmas music and maybe see a child sit on Santa's lap so I went to the Scottsdale Mall which is on the high end and chic side of life.  I hadn't been there in ages and found I was so dismayed by all the glittering, shining, expensive merchandise.  It is over-whelming and all it did was make me think how uneven things are for people.  What many don't have, and how much others do have.  I went to a store that often has someone playing a concert grand piano but nobody was playing so I left the mall entirely after looking around a bit. 

It felt good to get back to nature and a more humble surroundings by going on a walk in my own area. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.