Signing Day!

Today my daughter signed her letter of intent to play college volleyball next fall at John Carroll University in Cleveland.  Here she is surrounded by most of her high school teammates.  Later in the evening the team lost in their first round of the state playoffs to a much better team from across town.  Even as they were outgunned and obviously out of the running, my daughter spent her last HS game on the bench the whole night.  Other parents were as disappointed as we were.

Post Script - since I'm playing catch up on my journal, I can report that in mid December the coach was released from her position at the high school.  The way she ran her program was as unacceptable to the powers that be at the school as it was to the parents of the players.  While it doesn't take the sting out of spending the season on the bench, my daughter rightly noted, "I hope this means that no one else will have to go through what I went through."

We are excited to move on to the next chapters!  Club season and then college ball - her dream come true.  Never give up!!  Beyond proud of this kid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.