A new garden visitor

Hey diddle diddle
a finch in the middle
of bluetits that all want to feed.
The food is soon gone
as more come along;
I shall have to start buying more seed.


Yesterday I put up this new feeder holding sunflower seeds. At first, all the birds ignored it, then today they all descended on it - including a goldfinch - the first I've seen in our garden! (He has a vignette to himself as my Extra.) As you can imagine, I was chuffed to bits.

The downside is that, as the birds feed, lots of seeds drop to the ground. They're not wasted as the ground-feeders - including the robins - gobble them up. But the birds have got through a whole feeder-full in one day. Also, as we're going away next week, my timing is pretty poor. Still, the birds will soon return once we do and can look forward to further feasts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.