Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Northern Flicker Hybrid

This morning, mixed in with the usual Red-Shafted Flickers was this guy.  He must be a mixture of a Red and Yellow-shafted Flicker.  He has the head pattern and general coloring of the YS but instead of being all black, his mustache stripe is mixed with red and he doesn't have a red patch on his head.  His tail feathers are orange instead of yellow or red but his wing feathers (barely visible) are yellow.  I'm pretty sure no one cares about this as much as I do but I was excited to see him.  I think he's very handsome even if his markings are a bit mixed up.  So, I'm not sure this makes him silly but I'm going to tag my entry anyway.  Thanks to Admirer for hosting Silly Saturdays!  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.