peggy

this is Peggy doing her thing. Peggy is the director of our first-year writing program and therefore my boss. she is more than just that, though. she is a confidant, a mentor, a springboard, a counselor, a listener. Peggy makes you laugh, she makes you think, she makes you remember things are going to be just fine. because they are.

I first met Peggy during my initial semester in the PhD program, in a class she taught with Tim.

yes, so, we had our big back to school meeting today. which means..! right on cue, I had that sinking realization (not sure what that phrase even means, really) that I still have a long ways to go in this program. and that I am no academic. I also want to garner awards, to get things published (yet I need to stop comparing myself to these others, my colleagues). but to do that, I need to change something within myself first and I am still unsure of how to do that. people like Peggy help me realize things, help me navigate the confusing academic maelstrom (too dramatic, that word) that leads towards this change. but it obviously, ultimately, has to come from within me.

I remember reading somewhere in the Chronicle of Higher Education that something like 45-50% of people with PhDs don't end up in academia at all. however, I bet this relates more to the sciencey folks, doctors that go work in a large, private research institution somewhere. still, I wonder of my fate, of the choices I will make.

after the meeting, we put in five hours at the pub.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.