Miffy

By Miffy

Hanging…………

……………......…..in a ‘J-shape’

Once in the "J," the larva moults for the last time. The skin splits behind the head, and the larva wiggles while it hangs upside down to remove the old skin.  
If you look closely your will see it has a green tinge under the skin, particularly near the head. I took this photo this morning and this evening the feelers are very limp which indicates the next stage of transformation is imminent.

Yesterday’s “Great Blippish Christmas Bake Off” created lots of viewing traffic and fun entries along with the more serious versions. I love this challenge as I actually get my Christmas cake made and iced before Christmas Day!!

There is a wee story behind this year’s cake - this is actually only half a cake. Last week my son arrived home for an unexpected pre Christmas visit. The cake was made and caught his eye - the rest is history!

UPDATE
- Less than half an hour after uploading this to blip the caterpillar has changed into it's chrysalis form.
- I am about to weigh and soak fruit to make another Xmas cake tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.