Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Priorities

Saturday simply did not contain the requisite number of hours. I know where they went, they were sucked out of existence by the black hole that was Friday night's satin stitch class. I had not traced over the entire drawing with white tacking stitches. The work I had done was good quality, but I was only about 25% of the way there. I would have been perfectly happy to sit there and continue while other members of the group began to catch up, but Antigone wanted to show me the next step. Big mistake! I was shown just how many microscopic overlapping stitches it takes to make the vein along the centre of a rose leaf. There will be whole leaves, there will be stems, there will be whole flowers made of individual petals. Eternity stretched before me and the wind left my sails.

On Saturday I managed to grab about twenty minutes to play around with shutter speeds, but having spent fifteen of those minutes battling with the jog dial which seemed to prefer altering the flash settings, everything stood stock still and there was no subject on which to play with a fast shutter speed anyway.

Checking my shots in the evening yes there was some stuff I could use in emergency but it wasn't really worthy. Since 1st November I have been having a go to see if I could actually blip every single day and was pleased to have completed a whole month for the first time, could I do two? Perhaps I could just try to hit the 50 in a row target, but if I did that I'd want to go for the 100 and the 200 and the 400. No! There is more to life! Certainly the designer of this packaging knows how to prioritise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.