fototherapy

By GirlKojak

An Outdated Combine Harvester

Nothing of me is original. I am the combined effort of everyone I've ever known.
(Chuck Palahniuk)

The true harvest of my life is intangible - a little star dust caught, a portion of the rainbow I have clutched
(Henry David Thoreau)


I spotted this rather dilapidated looking machine a couple of weeks ago and thought it strangely appealing. I don't think it has done much work this year, but by the state of the hay bales it may well have been used to cut the hay for them! They've certainly been there a while, too. Anyway, the weather has been lovely today and just perfect for this shot.

The title is from a Philip Larkin poem, but Larkin being what he is I decided the poem itself wasn't totally appropriate for blip! Other than that and an equally unblipable quote from Eddie Izzard, I couldn't find a quote about combine harvesters for some reason! ;o) But I thought the two quotes above went quite well together, and they seemed both beautiful and true to me. I hope you like them as well.

Once again I've gone for the predictable song choice, but here's a little non-musical sound clip for you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.