West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Niagara Falls of Laos?

I rented another motorbike today and headed off to visit a few of this region’s many waterfalls. I finally got to ride a bike with a working speedometer. I’ve never had one of those before so never know what speeds I was going! The area around Pakse is fairly flat in comparison to northern Laos but there are hills not far away and hidden in the forests are lots of waterfalls.


This was one of two waterfalls at the first site I stopped at. The first extra was also there, next to the entrance of a cafe. It’s one of the largest and scariest looking spiders I’ve ever seen. Any spider experts out there who can tell me what it is?


The second extra is a different waterfall about 35km away from the first one. I went to three sites in total before driving back to Pakse. It was a good day but I was very tired when I got back. And I had a sunburnt foot! I carefully put sunscreen on my face, neck and arms (even though I was wearing a long sleeved shirt) but forgot my feet. As I was driving through the town just before taking the bike back I saw a woman carrying a baby of a few months in her left arm, powering and steering her motorbike with her right arm. I’ve seen plenty of babies on motorbikes but they’re usually being held by an adult passenger rather than by the driver! She had a toddler standing in front of her too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.