Emil, Else, Ruth and Guenther Nachum

lived in the house in front of which these brass plates have been implanted in the walkway. They were deported in 1941 and murdered in Minsk. In front of many beautiful old houses in Hamburg these plates are silent witnesses of the killing of so many Jewish people during the war. It touches me deeply, each time I discover them. I feel at the moment often as if the time we are living in is similar to 1933. So it is very good to be reminded of what Nazis, racists, demagogues and other people greedy for power have been able to 'accomplish'.
The first sunny day in 11 days gave me the chance to have a little walk in the area of Hamburg where I spent so many years studying at the University. In the extras I put one sunny street scene, and the main building of my Alma Mater. 
The last picture is of Short Bull in his spirit dancing shirt 1906. This picture was part of a beautiful exhibition about the brutal , nearly total extinction of the Northern American Indian Tribes. Very touching too...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.