Buddies

I finally took my camera out for a walk today, as I went with my mom to DC's (ridiculously) small Xmas market. It seemed right to do that given events in Germany. I did notice a few more cops around.

I was looking for street scenes and people with character and these two just jumped out. They were chilling on the stairs of the National Portrait Gallery (how appropriate, right?) so I approached them. They were a tad surprised and Deshaun asked for a few seconds so he 'could put in his teeth and give me a real smile.' That made Tyriq crack up. 

They are both native DC-ists -- which is a rare occurrence in this transit town of ours. We bemoaned how the city is changing around us constantly, with old, characterful neighborhoods being replaced with sleek condos and organic food store chains that cater to a new influx of millennials. 

All and all a really nice encounter for the day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.