An early Christmas gift from nature

This morning I went back down to Fleur's to take some photos - the restaurant property is so unique that it is well worth photographing.  Sadly the morning was grey and dull.  But I took them anyway and figured that one way or another I had a blip in the bag.

Then I stopped in Oamaru.  I needed to buy more cheese, and various other bits and pieces.  Sadly I forgot to buy the electric kettle and the doormat that I needed but I can always get them another day.  While I was in town I took some other iconic Oamaru photos, giving me even more choices for my blip.

As I drove up through Kurow and Otematata the weather brightened considerably and I took some great scenery photos.  Yet more choices!

But then . . . I noticed a Ruru (NZ native owl; known colloquially as a morepork) sitting in the gravel on the side of the road.  Now this is amazing.  They are night creatures and the only other one I've seen in daylight was years ago in native bush in Denniston.  Today's morepork was just sitting there in the gravel on the side of the highway with cars and trucks roaring past at 100 kmh.  I was worried he might be hurt and need rescuing (but was also aware of possible photo opportunities) so I pulled over a couple of kilometres up the road; prepared my camera, opened my window, did a U-turn and drove back.  Quite certain that it would be gone before I got there.

Nope, there he still sat.   When I pulled up across the road from him he took fright (though was unconcerned about the other traffic flashing by) and flew off to the top of a fence post.  That put my mind at rest anyway as he was clearly unhurt.

I dashed off a few photos (only about 60!), then he flew off.  I was at a heck of a distance in the end, and although my data tells me the focus is right on him, they're still not as clear as I'd like.

Still - a miraculous opportunity.  Thank you to nature!

You can see from the photos that he is clearly a youngster - those tufts on his back and head are a giveaway.  

The photo in extras shows him shutting his eyes against the glare of the sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.