On the Rocks

The five boys and I left for the Road to Hana with great anticipation for our grand adventure. This photo is taken from a scenic lookout point near the start of the twisty area of the road. The boys ventured down to watch the large waves crashing on the rocks and the kite surfers flying over the massive waves. Then we continued on to the first waterfalls and ponds; we hiked up to the higher falls on a really muddy trail through a Bamboo Forest. Listening to the tall bamboo swag in the wind was delightful; it sounded like the bamboo wind chimes blown by a breeze.The falls were pretty and the hiking trail was bordered by the plants you would expect to see in a rain forest along with beautiful flowering plants. I didn't bring my camera here because I wanted to keep up with the boys and I knew I would never be able to resist stopping at every photo opportunity; I only took shots of the boys at each of the falls with my cell phone; I really wanted today to be about the experience with the boys, not me taking photos. Four of the boys wanted to head back to the condo after those first Falls, so the majority ruled and we headed back across the island before really going very far on the Road to Hana! I would have enjoyed going on a bit further, but I was actually a bit tired when we got back here so I was kind of glad we headed back early for a delicious dinner prepared by our personal chef. Hot tub time and then a fun game of Dictionary finished off a lovely day.
Thanks for the lovely comments as you follow me on vacation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.