Sue Le Feuvre

By UrbanDonkey

Victor Hugo's House...

This is for Majoayee. It has always been difficult to get a photograph of Hauteville House, which is where Victor Hugo lived while in exile in Guernsey, because there were two enormous trees in the front garden which obscured the house.

These trees were recently declared unsafe and have been removed revealing the beauty of the house. It is on a steep hill just out of town and when to is open to the public in summer there is a constant stream of French visitors making the pilgrimage up the hill. There are many British and other nationalities also visiting of course... 

It is a beautiful day so I planned to nip up Hauteville for a photograph then catch a bus to Pembroke. After I took this photograph I headed to town to wander around for a quarter of an hour until the bus was due but I bumped into a friend and by the time we'd finished chatting I'd missed the bus. So I came home and Pembroke can wait for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.