A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Back to basics

Some years ago at work, we moved mainly to automatic data programmes. It means we can run samples on the mass spectrometer then just run the data through a computer programme to get the results. It is much quicker and easier. .But recently I have been using one of the old instruments which operates from a computer which can't handle the new programmes. So I have to go back to copying out all the measurements by hand. I actually quite like doing it. Every so often, randomness throws up a number which makes a pattern (I like 224488 in this list). When it is all done by computer, I don't notice it as I don't really look at them.

Plus this old instrument is MUCH easier to keep running than the new ones. If it goes wrong, I can diagnose and fix it. With the new ones, have the time I can do neither. New technology comes with just as many curses as blessings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.