Murrie194

By Murrie194

Hedging their bets??

Once again, this isn't the blip I had planned for today!! Went out for a walk late this afternoon, as I was out tonight and had to get my blip wrapped up early.

Got what I thought was a suitable shot - then arrived home to see a photo opportunity I've been trying to capture for days!!

I mentioned in a previous blip that I noticed some 'unusual' behaviour amongst the sparrow population ever since we put up our feeding station.

Up to eight or so birds would 'hide' in the privet hedge that sits about 20' from the station, then swoop in to feed. They would also peck away at the leaves, eating what I assumed were insects, but I'm not sure.

Up until the feeder was erected, I've never seen this and couldn't figure it out. Checked the hedge but could find no sign of any nests and I thought at first, they might just be hiding from potential predators, although I haven't seen any evidence of this.

I notice however that the bottom bird has food in its beak so I assume it's taking this 'off-site' to perhaps feed some chicks.

If there are any more knowledgable blippers out there, I'd really appreciate some pointers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.