BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Deer

“She has a memory of trees and fields and nothing more.”
― James Thurber, The White Deer


“I ask people why they have deer heads on their walls. They always say because it's such a beautiful animal. There you go. I think my mother is attractive, but I have photographs of her.”
― Ellen DeGeneres



Are you reaching for the strange fruit
my antlered friend?


Maybe the bauble-laden branches will bend
under the weight


and make it easier for you.
I like the look of you.


You’re an elegant creature.
I love the curve of you


and the strong hint of what you are
and what you’re capable of.


How agile you must be.
Thank you for travelling such a distance


to wish me Merry Christmas. I’m
relieved you reached here  in time.


All Things Beautiful

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.