Paladian

By Paladian

Coyote howling

Winter has hit again today, with gale force winds, driving rain, and no way am I going outside. There's reports of electricity blackouts, and trees down everywhere. So it's back to the cupboard again to see what I can find.

This is another Oaxacan carved figure, this time of a coyote. In the villages, the men carve the animal and the women do the painting.

I find the intricacy of the painting extraordinary - it's all painted by hand (of course) and I wonder how long they can do it without damaging their eyesight.

I was considering just publishing a small detail of this figurine, but couldn't decide which bit, so you get to see all of it.

I've never been to Mexico, but it's on my bucket list - especially Oaxaca.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.