Red trousers

Had a long and exhausting - but lovely - day with my Mum today.  We walked to Waterloo first (well, I walked, and pushed my Mum in her wheelchair), to get something from Boots, then had a wander along the Southbank as far as the Oxo Tower.  Had some lunch in Eat near there, then walked back and over the rail/footbridge at Waterloo, and up to Trafalgar Square.  Went for a coffee in the Crypt at St Martin in the Fields, and then to the Beyond Caravaggio exhibition at the National Gallery - which was brilliant.

When we came out it was getting dark, so we went in search of some Christmas lights, walking up to Regent Street and Piccadilly.  I wanted to get a small Christmas present for my boss in Fortnum and Mason's, so we braved the crowds in there for a few minutes.  It was madness!  We then walked on to Carnaby Street, before turning round and heading back to Southwark.  

We were thwarted on the bridge at Waterloo though, as the lift was out of order - so had to walk back across to Charing Cross again.  Thankfully I had the brainwave of catching the train to Waterloo East from there, which saved me a long walk round to another bridge.  Finally got back to the room and found (thanks to an app on my phone) that I had walked over 20,000 steps.  No wonder I was exhausted!

We had another 'room picnic' of some M&S salady bits we'd picked up on the way back, and I watched the final of the Apprentice - and funnily enough slept incredibly soundly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.