Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

My Cat Charlie

Our cat Charlie is a funny thing. She's neurotic and flighty as anything, and thankfully completely inept when it comes to being predatory (she's never caught so much as a leaf). She has always been utterly terrified of both our kids - until recently. In the last few weeks she's actually not always run away when they're around. She even lets the lad pick her up and cuddle her.

Whenever he does so, however, his mother and I have to stifle a lot of laughter, as it looks very ungainly and utterly hilarious. The way he carries her is exactly like the way the boy in the book "My Cat Maisie" carries the cat: both arms round the middle, with the cat looking like it's about to slide south at any moment.

This morning he dragged her up onto the sofa and sat there holding her tight and stroking her. I'm quite amazed that she puts up with it; she's rather a sweet cat (if inept and not too bright). xP

Ok, I've finished Batman: Knightfall, but then I went and grabbed out MOAR Batman trade paperback goodness: "Hush", written by the great Jeph Loeb, and pencilled by the inestimable Jim Lee. Again, I would recommend this story most highly, whether or not you think you're into comic books - or even Batman; as I said the other day, I'm not a big Batman fan, but these stories (Knightfall, and Hush) are just brilliant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.