In My World

By JoanneInOz

A Family Heirloom

The other day when Shyartist added a photograph of her grandparents clock, which is in need of repair, it reminded me of my grandfather's fob watch.

I never met my grandfather, he was long gone from this world by the time I was born, yet all I have ever heard of him are stories of what a wonderful, caring and well respected man he was.

My father was his eldest son, and the fob watch was passed on to him in 1946. My parents both remembered my grandfather using the watch, which he always kept in the pocket of his vest.

Even though the watch no longer works, one of the hands has gone adrift, and there is slight damage to one corner of the glass, to me this watch is a priceless reminder of a man whom I hold in the highest regard.

And even though I never met my grandad, he was my father's father, so that makes him a very special man in my book.

Afterthought ~ I just checked to see when my grandfather's birthday was, as I remembered it was in August. It was the 20th, only three days ago.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.