A special tree

My late sister-in-law made this tree for me more than 30 years ago, and it always takes pride of place on my mantel shelf every year.

The ornament on the left was crafted just last year, and I bought it in Austria at Christmas time.  The ornament on the right - actually I can't remember where I bought it but I've had it for at least 40 years - It's a pear with a tree and a partridge inside of it.

I think this will be the last year I'll get out Kathe's tree because I have it in mind to send to her son and daughter-in-law in Michigan.  I know they will treasure it for the craftsmanship and because of the person who made it.  It's important that it stays in the family.  Well, important to me at any rate, and I'm certain they will revere it as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.