Christmas morning in New Zealand

I haven't moved more than 150 metres from my camp site all day.  I woke fairly early to birdsong so communed with the bird life for a while, then took myself off for a pre-breakfast photo walk.  I only got as far as this - the old sheep yards now filled with the blue of vipers bugloss.

I can actually see this view from my van looking east but just wanted to get a little closer for the photo.  Looking west I see the lake that I blipped yesterday.

You can see that the sky started out very pale today, but it finished up a most stunning shade of blue - you can see it in my extras - where I was trying to capture a cloud of insects

I have spent Christmas day just the way I like to.  Quietly with thoughts of Blaze, and remembering the fun of our very low key Christmases when he was young.

And I've sat out in the sun (well sun-blocked) and read the book that "Blaze" bought me for Christmas (Alexandra Tidswell's first novel about immigration to NZ back in the 1800's).  Blaze and I always bought each other a book for Christmas and birthdays so I continue the tradition by buying me one from him.  I also buy him one from me.  Great tradition - it means I am allowed two new books to read!

I hope you've all had a lovely Christmas, and have been able to spend it in whatever way you like to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.