The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Four years

Gusversaries are more important - no, much more important - than blipversaries in this house, and today is the 4th anniversary of his arrival as a nervous little waif in our home.  I missed marking the occasion last year when we were down in the Old Flyer's house, and preoccupied with other things.

I have told the story of his arrival before, probably several times.  Yet it still seems a miracle that his path improbably crossed with Wifie's that Thursday afternoon before Christmas on Arnside Knott.  It is no miracle that once they had met they both knew they were meant to be together, it was love at first sight, immediate recognition of kindred spirits and gentle souls.  He is still absolutely devoted to her, and though he walks with me three times a day, if Wifie comes with us he won't leave her even when I call him.

I never would have believed I could be so smitten by a dog and that my love for him would get stronger day by day.

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.