kiz75

By kiz75

Rogue Swan

The storms have subsided. A wee day out to Lochwinnoch to walk off some Christmas feasting. Came across this mute swan in the beautiful fading light. Back home I had just posted this to my instagram account when I heard the news about Carrie Fisher. What a year it has been for celebrity deaths. Along with Bowie this one resonates so much with me. I'm a huge Star Wars fan and Princess Leia was my movie role model, feisty and independent, the kind of woman I wanted to be as a kid.

She was an icon to me, not only an actress in a strong protagonist role in one of my favourite films series; but she was an incredible author too. Postcards From the Edge was a wonderful witty and candid book, outlining life as the child of Hollywood stars, and her tempestuous relationship with her mother, Debbie Reynolds. I learned only in the last few days that she was involved in the script for Sister Act.
My sister pointed out that the silhouette the swan created is the symbol for Rogue One, the latest Star Wars film. How apt! RIP Carrie Fisher, you will be sorely missed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.