rainbowsparklie

By rainbowsparklie

My world

The biggest party in the world is on and it's on my doorstep.

The Olympic park is 2miles from my little (mortgaged) bit of London and to say I have embraced Olympic-fest since we won the bid is an understatement. The preparations have paralleled my own life journey over the last few years and to see the final result has been a significant goal.

I maxed out my credit card on tickets and in a bid to capture bank breaking moments I thought I'd turn to a some photographic type device. Taking the advice of my wise and trusted friend acronymphomania I invested in a Canon PowerShot S95. It was a bargin half price, because apparently they have released newer version but I know nothing about these things- focus, lens, shutter speed are a foreign language.

Armed with my new toy I trotted off to watch the rehearsal of the opening ceremony. I was privileged to be there, to see it close up and snapped away as nurses, maypole dancers and signing choirs practiced their moves whilst I fully signed up to the #savethesurprise pledge. Since then I've been hooked on this new clicking button device.

Last night I read acronymphomania newly published article on photography and mental health, A picture in mind*. It resonated through and through. The idea of photography being a type of mindfulness struck a chord. Despite the efforts of some the best staff the NHS can offer I struggle to master the art of mindfulness. And so an idea clicked. Blipping could be my new once-a-day mindful activity.

With a 'ha ha' moment in Sainsburys queue this afternoon I noticed a sea of flags from different. I could explain in depth how the colour, patterns, origin a d use flags make a girl with autistic tendencies very happy but that vergece into vexillogy would be very Sheldonesque**. With the world partying in London this month, they seem even more special - a representation of our diverse world together as one.

I often struggle with understanding the world am baffled by people's existence beyond my skin. I suspect my Blips will be very 'me-me' at times, but it will be a chance to daily capture 'my world' (without the need for words) whatever that world might be on any given day. I'm not sure I'm a 1000 consecutive Blips material, but who knows?

Old fashioned footnotes instead of hyperlinks:
* You can read A picture in mind here - http://www.scottishrecovery.net/Latest-News/a-picture-in-mind.html?dm_i=1DZ%2CWS6S%2C78DDL6%2C2PTGD%2C1

** You can have a chuckle at Dr Sheldon Cooper's premier episode of Fun with flags here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xl12Sp1KiEk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.