Wrong Footed.

Reflections in the windows of my first alma mater which stands majestically overlooking Bruntsfield Links no longer a school but downgraded to student accommodation. It was built about the turn of last century while its replacement school building was built nearby first in 1965 and subsequently rebuilt last year. That must say something about the quality of building work over that time span.

Today was my appointment with the doctor to discuss the results of my recent blood test. It felt like being told to report to the headmaster's study to answer for some demeanour I wasn't aware of. I was fully armed with my argument against being prescribed statins for possibly raised cholesterol.

I was completely wrong footed by the diagnosis of a struggling thyroid gland, not yet under active, but heading that way. I should not have been that surprised since my mother had problems in her 40s and my brother was diagnosed last year. I thought I had escaped, having no symptoms, but life is full of surprises.

I will be interested to see what the ramifications of a daily dose of thyroxine will be. Maybe I will become a supercharged model housewife, dusting and cleaning with the energy I have obviously been missing. More likely I will not notice any difference.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.