Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tan-striped...

This is the same species of bird I blipped a week or so ago, a white-throated sparrow; however, you'll see that this one looks quite a bit different.  Instead of the vivid black/white stripe pattern on the head, this color variant has a brown/tan stripe pattern and also a speckled chest versus the more gray chest of the other one.  For some reason, I've been seeing more of these this winter - not sure why.  

It's been busy at the feeders all day - nothing unusual but lots of activity.  At one point, there were four bright red male cardinals on one of our cherry trees - quite a sight.  We've got snow/wintry mix in the forecast tomorrow, so I expect business at the Bistro will be booming.

Thank you to everyone who left comments, hearts, stars on my celebratory harvestman yesterday (and apologies to the arachniphobes!) Although I'd gotten a notice a few days ago that my 2,000th was coming up, I'd completely forgotten it when I posted  - however, I think I'd have still gone with the arachnid since it represents such a major "win" for me in terms of coming to grips with my irrational fear of all things with 8 legs.  Anyway, thank you - you've sent her scurrying onto the first page of Pops.  

Happy Hump Day to one and all...and thanks to Caileach for hosting WildWednesday!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.