Children Climbing - and a New Camera

I wanted to try out my new camera, and the Editor and her Mum wanted a walk in the lovely (though chilly) sun at Tynemouth. So we went out together.

I stuck to the fairly basic settings on the camera today; the pdf manual runs to 196 pages (all in English) so there's a fair bit to learn. And at my age I generally have to try out a function several times before it becomes familiar.

Anyway I'm delighted with the results so far. The conditions were very contrasty but the dynamic range of the sensor coped very well indeed - it seems noticeably better than my previous camera, with good detail in the shadows and yet the highlights weren't "blown out".

I hope you like the blip of 2 little kids climbing up the sea wall - taken from the top of the cliffs. And the extra could, I guess, be used for advertising Tynemouth as a holiday resort!

There's some more photos on flickr here if you're interested.

(The camera is the latest mirrorless offering from Olympus, the EM1 Mk2, with a 12-100mm (35mm equivalent 24-200) f4 zoom. I'm very lucky - Santa was very good to me indeed, much more so than I deserved!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.