TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

At home among the gum trees

I put up a photo of a Rainbow Lorikeet (Trichoglossus moluccanus) yesterday and immediately took it down.  It was not nearly sharp enough, so I decided to wait.  I'm glad I did, because this morning they were back again, this time in our front garden, which is much closer.  These colourful members of the parrot family are found all the way down our eastern seaboard to Tasmania. They have been introduced to Perth, Western Australia and Auckland, New Zealand as well as Hong Kong. 
As you can see the eucalypts are just breaking out, but are promising a lot of enticement to these stunning native birds. I am pretty excited at the thought of more opportunities ahead and hope to get even better shots to show you.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.