Scribbler

By scribbler

Lucky day at the library

Picked up a hold on Stephen Poliakoff's latest DVD series, Close to the Enemy. He is a brilliant writer and director who always assembles a sterling cast. Recommended: Glorious 39, Gideon's Daughter, Shooting the Past, Perfect Strangers. Well, really, everything he does.

Found a book of graphic fiction on the shelf by a cartoonist whose work I enjoy in The New Yorker. I'm finding it hard lately to read demanding prose, for reasons unknown, and have discovered that a graphic novel or memoir or journalism can be highly enjoyable if the drawings are well done. The art slows me down and lets the words sink in. Recommended: Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi, Safe Area Gorazde by Joe Sacco, Are You My Mother? by Alison Bechdel, Maus by Art Spiegelman.

Here's wishing you a lucky day at the library!

-------

LUCKY DAY AT BLIPFOTO
Today makes 730 blips—two whole years' worth, and they only took me three-and-a-half years. Having done the first 500 in 500 days, I decided to cut myself some slack. Even absented myself for a while, but I came back because I missed my blipper friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.