An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Atomic Sunset (Tripod in the Seaweed)

Everybody was out at Mudeford yesterday afternoon. With their children, grandchildren, uncles, grannies, aunties, dogs, scooters, crabbing, snapping with their phones...

Lots of serious photographers out yesterday afternoon, but they were snapping across the bay with the little boats (and where I shot some very nice post sunset shots from).

I was the only one out on a spit of gravel, here. I had already set up the big HEAVY tripod, as this atomic glow of sunset went down behind Henghistbury Head, with Mudeford on the extreme right. 

Then, in walks this couple with their dinghy from the left. I followed them (with my lenses, not literally!) but out of the hundreds taken I wanted one with this nice foreground as I'm not sure if it could be easily taken again. Used a grad grey filter. Too much pincushion distortion had to be corrected for my liking though, but it is the long end of a wide zoom - Nikkor 10-24mm (but still wideangle).

By the time of the last bus, at 17.30, it was almost dark, and moonless, so no good for photography. But, as usual, such a faff getting home, with multiple changes as the different routes (run by the same bus company!) were being run on two different timetables (weekday and Saturday, despite being Thursday!!).

At one point I asked the driver when the next bus back to Salisbury was. It was 18.30 at this point.

"Next bus to Salisbury is the last one, at 17.25."

"But it's 18.30 now. So there is no next bus back to Salisbury?"

"There is, at 17.25."

"But if you're running a Saturday timetable, isn't the last one not until much later?"

"Er, oh, I meant 7.25 pm."

In fact the last bus is at 20.10. There is no bus at 19.35.  I just couldn't be bothered and was too tired to argue with a driver who obviously had no idea and simply couldn't care either. By the time I got home at 21.00 (that's 9pm) I just wanted to give up photography, travelling and to put my head in my oven - typical, my oven is electric....


Can there be any other Blipper who has to go through such sheer bullshit just to get a Blip?? 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.