Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Campus Bookstore

After the "all morning" faculty meeting -- a welcome to the new college term -- I needed to get to the photocopy office and to the campus bookstore. While I was in the bookstore I just nonchalantly held my camera as high as I possibly could and clicked once.

I was in the bookstore to make sure that the books I've ordered for my students have arrived and that they are the correct books. I also had the manager of the store order the Richard Rodriguez book The Hunger of Memory and add it to the mandatory books required for each of my classes because I've just learned that our entire campus community is going to read the book this semester. Discussion groups are forming; some classes will be using it, and the Writing Center Director is urging instructors to assign it for their assignments in the Center, and Rodriguez will be at the campus November 29th to speak.

After visiting the bookstore, I stopped in the Dean of Instruction's office because she had stopped me before the morning meeting to ask me if I'd add one more class to my semester load. So we were working out the details and it appears that I will be teaching an overload. I left her office and headed to the first of the afternoon's "elective" meetings. When that was over, I spent a few moments in my office and then headed for home.

The semester officially begins this coming Monday. Because my classes are hybrid (half online) we meet on Tuesday or Thursday, so I'll meet my new students then.

Tomorrow Mr. Fun and I will be heading for San Diego to visit friends who have rented a beach house and invited us to join them for the day. So in the morning we'll take the three pooches to "Camp Bow Wow" and head south. We'll be back home Saturday and will retrieve the pups from the kennel.

I'm exhausted. I need to find my pillow because my body is saying "lights out!"

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.